Mental Health Act

mental health act

The Mental Health Act 2007 (MHA) is the law in England that controls what services can do, when they are trying to assess or treat someone, against their will.mental health

There are six main sections of the Act. There are other sections which apply to someone who comes to hospital from court or prison. You can find out about what happens when you are placed on a section of the Mental Health Act. If you are confused about what section you are on please speak to a member of staff.

Find out more information on being sectioned, forensic sections, main sections and other rights.

Mental Capacity Act

The Mental Capacity Act (MCA) is designed to protect and empower individuals who may lack the mental capacity to make their own decisions about their care and treatment. It is a law that applies to individuals aged 16 and over. For more information, please click here.

Mental Health Act - Code_of_Practice.PDF

Code of Practice: Mental Health Act 1983 easy read booklet