Disability Equality Standard (WDES)

decorative image

The Disability Discrimination Act has been superseded by the Equalities Act 2010. The Equality Act covers all the protected characteristics, including disability legislation.  The disability law is designed to prevent disabled people being treated unfairly.  It radically altered how disabled people should be treated and covers both employment and access to goods, facilities and services. The law applies to all employers with 15 or more employees. It also applies to all those who provide goods and services to the public, regardless of whether those services are paid for or are provided free.

What ‘substantial’ and ‘long-term’ mean

‘Substantial’ is more than minor or trivial for example, it takes much longer than it usually would to complete a daily task like getting dressed. ‘Long-term’ means 12 months or more - e.g. a breathing condition that develops as a result of a lung infection.

There are special rules about recurring or fluctuating conditions, for example, arthritis. For more details about the special rules download the ‘Equality Act Guidance’.

Progressive conditions

A progressive condition is a condition that gets worse over time. People with progressive conditions can be classed as disabled. However, you automatically meet the disability definition under the Equality Act 2010 from the day you’re diagnosed with HIV infection, cancer or multiple sclerosis.

What isn’t counted as a disability

Some conditions aren’t covered by the disability definition. These include addiction to non-prescribed drugs or alcohol. You can find out more information by downloading the Equality Act document, which you can find in the www.gov.uk website.

Useful documents