Palliative care admin team winning a Q Award in 2023

Q Awards 2024 – nominations now open

Nominations are open for our annual Q Awards; a celebration of the dedicated people and teams that make up Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust (CWPT) and their excellent work to improve the lives of the people and communities we support.

Anyone working or volunteering at CWPT can be nominated for a Q Award. We’re inviting people across Coventry and Warwickshire to nominate a person or team they feel has gone the extra mile to help them or to deliver exceptional services. You could be a member of the public who believes someone deserves to be recognised for providing exceptional care, a colleague from a CWPT or a partner organisation working alongside someone inspiring change for the better, or you work or volunteer at CWPT and want to highlight the exceptional work of your team or service.

Award categories

There are 12 categories you can nominate for, including some that are new for 2024. Click below to learn more and read the entry criteria.

1. Volunteer of the Year

The volunteer workforce at CWPT is growing, and this award is to spotlight the wonderful and committed individuals and teams who give up their free time, unpaid, to support the delivery of our services and help us deliver exceptional care.

This award is open to volunteer teams and individuals. You cannot nominate yourself.

2. Apprentice of the Year

The Apprentice of the Year Award recognises outstanding growth and dedication in rising talent at CWPT. This award celebrates apprentices who demonstrate they live by the Trust vision and values, and demonstrate exceptional commitment and eagerness to learn.

This award is open to current apprentices. You cannot nominate yourself.

3. Clinical Leader of the Year

We are lucky to have so many inspiring clinical leaders at CWPT who drive change and encourage us all to innovate and do things differently, learn from the impact of our ideas, and create a collaborative and supportive culture.

The Clinical Leader of the Year Award recognises exceptional clinical leaders across the organisation who show compassionate leadership and always put our patients at the centre of everything they do. We believe good leadership matters at all levels, so this award is open to any CWPT clinician, regardless of pay band or management responsibility.

4. Support Services Awards (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who has/have:

  • Shown initiative in developing processes to support the Trust business.
  • Demonstrated how their support has contributed to the delivery of our Trust Values.
  • Gone above and beyond in the support they offer to clinical services and/or corporate colleagues.
  • Undertaken their duties with pride and has shown outstanding dedication to their work.

5. Compassion (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who are compassionate, kind and caring to everyone, including people who use our services and people we work with.

6. Excellence (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who always do their best and seek to achieve excellence in all they do. Who innovate and try out new things and when things don't go to plan, they embrace this as an opportunity to learn and improve.

7. Respect (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who are civil and respectful. They also celebrate diversity and always appreciate the views of others.

8. Integrity (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who do the right thing and people can trust them. They are also open, honest and transparent, even when things go wrong.

9. Collaboration (can be won by a team or individual)

For the individual or team who take pride in involving people and working together as an inclusive team, both within the organisation, and in coproduction with patients, carers, partners, colleagues and others who use our services and people we work with.

10. Reducing Healthcare Inequalities Award – new for 2024

NEW for 2024, the Reducing Healthcare Inequalities Award recognises teams and individuals that have implemented creative and innovative initiatives which aim to reduce healthcare inequalities.

Award entries should focus on the most deprived communities and inclusion health groups (any population group that is socially excluded). This can include people who experience homelessness, drug and alcohol dependence, vulnerable migrants, Gypsy, Roma and Traveller communities, sex workers, people in contact with the justice system and victims of modern slavery, but can also include other socially excluded groups), ethnic minority communities and/or other groups experiencing poorer-than-average care.

We’re looking for initiatives that have driven tangible improvements in access, experiences and outcomes for patients, carers, people and/or communities.

This award is open to teams and individuals at CWPT. You can also put yourself forward for this award.

11. Improvement and Innovation Award – new for 2024

NEW for 2024, the Improvement and Innovation Award is for teams and individuals who have introduced new ways of working or taken steps to deliver tangible improvements for staff, patients, and populations as quickly and efficiently as possible. It doesn’t matter how big or small the change has been, if you can demonstrate clear steps you have taken to improve the efficiency, effectiveness and quality and safety of services and the impact the changes have had, we want to hear about it.

Examples of improvement and innovation could include but are not limited to; using improvement tools to increase the quality and safety of services, finding innovative ways to improve the efficiency or effectiveness of service delivery, reducing waiting times, rebuilding teams, reopening closed facilities, returning staff equipment to original departments, and much more.

This award is open to teams and individuals at CWPT. You can also put yourself forward for this award.

12. Lifetime Achievement Award – new for 2024

New for 2024, the Lifetime Achievement Award recognises individuals who have made a significant positive difference or contribution to CWPT, the NHS, their field of work and/or their local communities. They are advocates and changemakers, who have improved things for the better and have created a lasting legacy that will benefit our patients, colleagues and communities into the future.

This award is for individuals who have made a significant positive impact in or out of work, regardless of years of NHS service. Nominations should focus on impact, and if known, should include positive contributions made outside of work, such as voluntary or charity work, unpaid roles, or initiatives.

In addition to the categories above Trust Chair, Jagtar Singh OBE, and Chief Executive, Mel Coombes MBE, will each select one winner from all the entries that they feel deserve special mention for the Chair’s Award and CEO’s Award.   

How to nominate

To submit a nomination please complete our online nomination form.  All entries must be submitted by 22 July 2024.

Nominate now

Some categories will have specific questions. Please read the category criteria carefully and provide as much information as possible. This will ensure your nominee has the best chance of being selected by the judging panel as a finalist.

If you would like support with the application form or require it in another format such as easy read, please contact the Communications and Engagement Team at

Finalists will be invited to an awards ceremony in autumn, and winners will be invited on stage to be presented with their coveted Q Award!